//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

“Health is our greatest wealth.”

Today I felt inspired by a quote from a bottle of Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap, which is a ridiculously cluttered and poorly laid out label btw, who’s their graphic designer? I began to think about this idea ‘health is our greatest wealth’ while feeling disheartened by my inability to find a job in this depressing economy, oh so I guess your college GPA kind of does matter after all, oh well.

In these boundless days of [joblessness] freedom, I have developed a healthy habit of daily exercise. I am able to run longer and faster then I ever have before and my normally soft thighs actually have muscle tone. I guess I kind of used this quote as a way to make myself feel better about my situation; hey I may not have any money but at least I’ve got my health.

It’s easy to get wrapped up in material possessions and our label driven appearances. However, what are more important and beneficial in the long run are a healthy mind, body, and soul regardless of one’s spiritual ideas on the existence of a ‘soul’.

Constantly cultivating mind&body with new experiences such as books, music and nature (my top three, sorry visual art but you don’t make the cut, maybe if I was in India) is essential, although finding time for such pleasures cannot always be achieved. Thus far in my massive amounts of much appreciated free time I’ve begun to explore and reap the many benefits of eating well, daily exercise and stretching, and continually educating myself about these topics along the way. I am very grateful for the opportunity to have this time, post undergrad to figure out the ‘real world’, whatever that is.

I’ve started this blog to be able to share these ideas, experiences, and thoughts with whoever might be interested or find it valuable in one way or another. I am no expert and claim no such thing, just a [girl] young woman with a lot of free time to explore, hoping for a long, healthy, and fulfilling experience on this earth.

Om Mani Padme Hum.

-TML

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

